Home Sport Honours in Darley’s centenary year of football

Honours in Darley’s centenary year of football

Graeme Stewart, Michael Whelan and Wesley Burr were just three stalwarts to be honoured in Darley FNCs Hall of Fame. Photos – Darley FNC

By Todd Whelan

The Darley Football Club has celebrated their 100th year in style culminating a formal Gala Event (July 13) at Crown Casino and an overwhelming successful Family Fun Day (July 21) at Darley Park.
Three hundred lifeblood supporters of the Devils attended the monumental occasion at Crown hosted by AFL icon Brian Taylor. Whilst the acknowledgement of the Centenary Year was the hero of the evening, the Club, in its wisdom used the opportunity to launch their inaugural Hall of Fame Awards. Eleven inductees met the strict criteria of excellence and service to the Club and were deserved recipients of what is now an ongoing, time honoured award. Two of the 11-inductees, former Club President Teddy Stead and four time Club Champion, two time league best and fairest and two time Premiership player Peter Keep were bestowed with ‘Legend’ status.
The inductees now share an immortal bond that can be proudly celebrated by themselves, their extended families and the Darley Football Club for many years to come.
Whether it was the memorabilia that greeted the guests onto the red carpet, the award winners and their acceptance speeches or even the tales told face to face amidst an old fashioned catch-up, there was a moment to be moved for everyone. The professionalism and quality of the audio-visual production brought to life the history of the Darley Football Club and what it means to so many people.
Darley coach Heath Scotland said, “It was one of the best nights I’ve had, our club should be so proud.”
Congratulations to the inaugural inductees into the Darley Football Club Hall of Fame – James ‘Jum’ Hansen, Albert ‘Alby’ Jones, Marcus Whelan Snr, Teddy Stead (Legend status), Les Carr Jnr, Graeme Stewart, Wes Burr, Michael Whelan, Peter Keep (Legend status), David Barnes and Brad Miller.